CV Day 216

By: ArtisanX

Aug 04 2011

Category: photos

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

It's a Bird, It's a Plane

The skies cleared for awhile today, and I decided to go out in search of something to shoot.  I wasn’t the only one to take advantage of the clearing skies, the folks who went out Gliding today, must have liked the conditions.  As I came across the Mid Atlantic Soaring Center, I was greeted by this glider who sailed right over my head as I passed.  Not to miss the opportunity, I quickly pulled over and caught the graceful landing.  I was pleased with many of the shots, but I like this one in particular, because it really looks like the guy on the ground is controlling the plane via a Radio Controller.

The Mid-Atlantic Soaring Association (M-ASA), one of the countries largest soaring clubs was founded in 1952 and is conveniently located between Harrisburg, Baltimore, and Washington, DC.  The site offers access to thermal, ridge, and wave soaring year round. The club fosters and promotes all phases of soaring in the Mid-Atlantic Region, from beginning instruction through advanced training, cross-country flight, and sanctioned competition.  August 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

